In Florida, automobile accidents are far too common. If you or someone you know have been involved in an accident, you need to know your rights and the best way to proceed. There are time-restrictions involved and claims to be made which ought to be done effectively and aggressively. For example, Florida law requires each motorists to carry Personal Injury Protection benefits (“PIP”), also known as “No Fault” insurance with a minimum coverage of $10,000. The No Fault statute requires a person seeking the benefits be seen by a medical doctor within 14 days of the accident, or forfeit those benefits. Often times, a client may not realize they were injured until the injuries begin to manifest days later.
In practice and from experience, your insurance company does not have your best interests in mind. Rather, they are looking at their formulas and will seek to pay-out as little as possible on your claim so that the insurance company can maximize their profits. Insurance companies have attorneys on their side, so you too need someone on your side.
Some of the worst mistakes made by clients have been talking to the insurance company by themselves. We strongly urge you not to do that as they will illicit answers to their tricky questions during your recorded statement and will likely use it against you later in evaluating your claim for compensation.
If you have been involved in an accident, do not waste precious time! Feel free to give us a call. As always, our consultations are free.
Sounded in Negligence, “slip and fall” and “trip and fall” cases can be difficult to prosecute in Florida. A slip and fall injury is often the result of the property owner’s negligence. In Florida, a person injured from a slip and fall accident will likely face the “Open and Obvious Doctrine” which may bar, in whole or in part, your claim. Also, beware the law of Comparative Fault! What is needed to overcome these barriers, is well-documented evidence of the dangerous condition. For example, evidence that the owner knew or should have known of the dangerous condition and did nothing, is some of the evidence we seek to collect prior to prosecuting a claim of this sort. We urge you to consider hiring an experienced attorney who knows the best way to prosecute the claim to recover compensation, or “damages” for you, such as ourselves.
Many times, conditions on another’s property can be unreasonably dangerous and may not be readily known to you. If you have been injured on another person’s property or even a business, you really should speak with an experienced attorney.
If you are a party to a slip and fall or have been hurt on another’s property, feel free to give us a call. As always, our initial consultations are free.
The cruise ship industry places restrictions on when and where you can make a claim. Those restrictions appear in the fine print of the ticket. For example, many tickets make a stipulation that you must notify the cruise line within a specific time from when a cruise ship accident occurs. The ticket may also have a provision that requires you to file your claim within one year of the time cruise ship accident.
Typically, they also require that lawsuits against them must be filed in a specific state and in a particular county within that state. The ticket may also dictate that the case be filed in Federal Court. Because of these limitations, it is important to have representation from an experienced attorney who can take the necessary steps when an accident occurs aboard a ship. Cruise ship lines have a responsibility to make sure there are no dangerous conditions on board that can cause serious injury to its passengers. When a cruise ship accident occurs because of poor maintenance, incompetent staff members, or improperly trained employees, the cruise ship owners can be held legally responsible for negligence. Owners can also be held liable for cruise ship accidents that are caused by inadequate safety equipment or emergency precautions. Victims of cruise ship accidents may be entitled to compensation for medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
If you were a passenger and were injured on any ship, our firm can help you.
Certain cruise ship accidents must be filed in Miami-Dade County, Florida. We work with some of the premiere firms in Miami, Broward, and Palm Beach County to ensure you are represented by the right firm for the right situation. For Example if you have sustained an injury on-board a cruise ship owned or operated by Carnival Corporation (Carnival Cruise Lines), Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines (NCL), Celebrity Cruise Lines, or Norwegian Cruise Lines (NCL), a cases against them must be filed in Miami-Dade County, Florida. For more information on Cruise Line Accidents contact us now.